學習
探索
评估
探索
建立
考慮

采用DLMP®加工Kapton®聚酰亚胺薄膜

Kapton®激光切割成各种形状和设计

相关名称:

Kapton® FN,Kapton® HN,Kapton® HPP-ST,聚酰亚胺薄膜

化学名:

聚氧二苯撑均苯四甲酰亚胺

厂商:

杜邦

Kapton®是杜邦聚酰亚胺薄膜的商品名。聚酰亚胺薄膜一般是热固性聚合物,通过芳香族二酐和芳香族二胺的聚合来合成。Kapton薄膜表现出良好的耐化学性、很高的介电强度和优异的机械性能。这些理想的性能可在非常宽的温度范围保持。这类薄膜可填充、金属化和涂胶,增加它们在大多数应用和行业中的使用。未经处理的聚酰亚胺薄膜外观通常为黄褐色。在杜邦可提供的Kapton薄膜类型中,HN、FN和HPP-ST最受欢迎:

1. Kapton® HN– 所有在很宽温度范围(尤其是非常高温度下)具有物理、化学和电气性能理想平衡的聚酰亚胺薄膜
2. Kapton® FN– 通过将Kapton HN和杜邦™ Teflon® FEP氟碳树脂结合在一起而得到热封牌号
3. Kapton® HPP-ST– 与HN相同的聚酰亚胺,在很宽的温度范围具有出众的尺寸稳定性和粘附特性

Kapton®和DLMP®技术

Kapton热固性的化学性质和耐高温性能使其高度适应DLMP®(数字激光材料加工)技术。Kapton的每种特性对DLMP结果的影响在后面的栏目中详细讨论。

激光能量对Kapton最有用的效应是材料蚀除和材料改性。这些工艺的每一种都在下面其相应的部分中讨论。

如需了解更多信息,请见我们的激光材料加工白皮书。

Kapton®激光切割成电绝缘体Kapton®激光切割成电气线路热防护片Kapton®激光切割用于SMT原型模板Kapton®激光切割成形状和设计Kapton®激光切割成印刷电路板绝缘体

材料蚀除

材料蚀除是去除材料的物理过程。该过程将材料从顶部到底部表面完全去除或从顶部向下到指定深度部分去除。

聚酰亚胺是CO2激光能量(波长=10.6 μm)的优异吸收体。聚合物吸收激光能量时,其迅速将光能转化为分子振动(热能)。充分的热量可导致快速化学分解和碳化。直接处于激光路径中的材料被蚀除,成为蒸气和细微颗粒。紧靠激光光斑或路径外侧的材料会传导一部分热量,但不足以完全和彻底地燃烧和蚀除。这个热效应的区域通常被称为热影响区,或HAZ。聚酰亚胺薄膜的HAZ将是黑色碳化的区域。还可能表现出非常高的残留物。清除这种黑色结焦和残留物的最好方法是将薄膜与甲醇等常见溶剂浸在超声浴中。可使用蘸溶剂的棉签擦拭材料。

材料改性

使用DLMP技术切割材料时, 施加的能量足够使直接位于激光路径中的所有材料气化。此过程会留下黑色残留物,这是由之前讨论的化学分解造成的。通过降低激光功率,可使聚酰亚胺变暗,同时不去除很多的材料。这就是一种类型的材料改性,对于Kapton产品的激光打标非常有用。

激光打标

激光能量用来在材料上产生条形码、日期/批次代码、序列号或零件号等人读和/或机读标识或信息时,可将这个过程认为是激光打标。清除了过量结焦后,激光打标的聚酰亚胺薄膜将产生灰色标记。

激光打标标记零件编号的Kapton®

组合工艺

可在聚酰亚胺薄膜上应用多种工艺,而没有必要移动或重新夹持材料。这个示例图像 显示了如何将工艺组合,用Kapton®聚酰亚胺薄膜和DLMP技术切割方形和圆形并标记精细的细节。

Kapton®激光切割成方形并在表面标记序号

环境、健康和安全考虑

激光材料相互作用几乎总是产生气态流出物和/或颗粒物。使用CO2激光器加工所有聚酰亚胺Kapton(Cirlex®,H型)产生主要含一氧化碳和微量羰基、腈基和炔基的蒸气。切割和打标过程中沉积的黑色残留物有可能是聚合物的完全碳化产生的。应将加工聚酰亚胺薄膜产生的流出物导向外部环境。也可首先使用过滤系统处理,然后导向外部环境。聚酰亚胺不易燃烧。但是,应始终对激光加工予以监督。

Learn
icon explore
icon evaluate
icon discover
icon build
icon consider

Processing Kapton® Polyimide Using DLMP®

Kapton® Laser Cut into Various Shapes and Designs

Related Names:

Kapton® FN, Kapton® HN, Kapton® HPP-ST, Polyimide Film

Chemical Names:

poly-oxydiphenylene-pyromellitimide

Manufacturers:

DuPont

Kapton® is the brand name of DuPont polyimide films. Polyimide films are usually thermosetting polymers synthesized by polymerizing an aromatic dianhydride and an aromatic diamine. Kapton films exhibit good chemical resistance, high dielectric strength, and excellent mechanical properties. These desirable qualities hold over a very wide temperature range. These films can be filled, metallized, and coated with adhesive, increasing their utility in more applications and industries. Untreated polyimide films are usually amber in appearance. Among the types of Kapton film available from DuPont, HN, FN, and HPP-ST are the most popular:

1. Kapton® HN – all polyimide film with a desirable balance of physical, chemical, and electrical properties over a wide temperature range, especially very high temperatures
2. Kapton® FN – a heat sealable grade created by combining Kapton HN with DuPont Teflon® FEP fluorocarbon resin
3. Kapton® HPP-ST – the same polyimide as HN with superior dimensional stability and adhesion characteristics over a wide temperature range

Kapton® and DLMP® Technology

The thermoset chemistry and high temperature resistance of Kapton make it highly compatible with DLMP® (Digital Laser Material Processing) technology. The influence that each of Kapton's properties has on the results of DLMP is discussed in detail in the following sections.

The most useful effects of laser energy with Kapton is material ablation and material modification. Each of these processes are discussed in their respective section below.

For more information see our Laser Material Processing Whitepaper.

Kapton® Laser Cut into Electrical InsulatorsKapton® Laser Cut into Electrical Wiring Heat ShieldsKapton® Laser Cut for SMT Prototype StencilsKapton® Laser Cut into Shapes and DesignsKapton® Laser Cut into Printed Circuit Board Insulators

Ablation of Material

Material ablation is a physical process that removes material. Material is removed completely from the top to the bottom surface or partially from the top of the material down to a specified depth.

Polyimides are excellent absorbers of CO2 laser energy (wavelength=10.6 μm). When the polymer absorbs laser energy, it rapidly converts optical energy into molecular vibrations (heat). Sufficient heat leads to rapid chemical decomposition and carbonization. Material directly in the laser path is ablated away into vapor and fine particles. The material just outside of the laser's spot or path will conduct some heat, but not enough for complete and thorough combustion and ablation. This area of thermal affect is often referred to as the heat affected zone or HAZ. The HAZ for polyimide films will be black and carbonized. It may also exhibit a very light residue. The best way to remove this black char and residue is to submerge the film in an ultrasonic bath with a common solvent, such as methanol. Alternatively, the material can be wiped with a solvent swab.

Material Modification

When using DLMP technology to cut material, enough energy is applied to vaporize all of the material directly in the laser path. This leaves a dark residue and is caused by chemical decomposition as previously discussed. By reducing the laser power, polyimide film can be darkened without substantial material removal. This is a type of material modification and is useful for laser marking Kapton products.

Laser Marking

When the laser energy is used to produce a human- and/or machine-readable identification or information on a material, such as a barcode, date/lot code, serial number or part number, the process is considered laser marking. Laser marking polyimide film will yield a grey mark once excess char is removed.

Kapton® Laser Marked with Part Number

Combined Processes

Multiple processes can be applied to polyimide films without having to move or re-fixture the material. The example image demonstrates how processes can be combined to cut square and round shapes and mark fine detail with Kapton® polyimide film and DLMP technology.

Kapton® Laser Cut into Square and Surface Marked with Serial Number

Environmental, Health and Safety Considerations

Laser material interactions almost always create gaseous effluent and/or particles. Processing all-polyimide Kapton (Cirlex®, H type) with a CO2 laser generates vapors primarily containing carbon monoxide with trace amounts of carbonyl, nitrile, and alkyne groups. The solid black residue deposited during cutting and marking are likely generated by the complete carbonization of the polymer. The effluent from processing Kapton polyimide film should be routed to the exterior environment. Alternatively, it may be treated with a filtration system first and then routed to an exterior environment. Polyimides do not readily combust. However, laser processing should always be supervised.